Event Details

2019 Junior Civic League Annual Scholarship Luncheon: Over $14,000 in Scholarships to be Awarded


The Junior Civic League will host its Annual Scholarship Luncheon at 2 p.m. on Sunday June 23, 2019 at Holiday Inn South, 7410 South Ave. Boardman, OH, where scholarships will be awarded to nine local high school graduates. Our keynote speaker will be Dr. Sherri Lovelace-Cameron, Youngstown State University Graduate Program Director for the Chemistry Department and Full-time professor. During her twenty-four years at Youngstown State University she has been involved in the creation of 12 new courses. Her areas of research include organometallic synthesis and enhancing K-12 teacher and effectiveness through models that improve science learning. Through grants Sherri has provided research internships for undergraduate and high school students in addition to professional development opportunities for teachers.

The 2018 Cinderella Ball court will receive scholarships for 2019-2020. They are Kaia Anderson, Miss Cinderella 2018 of Youngstown Early College $2,500; 1st Attendant, Autumn Stanford of Boardman High School; $1,800 and 2nd Attendant, Asia Hobbs of Ursuline High School; $1,500.

The Junior Civic League will also award scholarships to six other recipients of $1,500 each for 2019-2020. The deserving recipients are: Jade Frazier, East; Derrycka Glass, Valley Christian; Maeson Green, Fitch High School; Daryl Smith, Girard High School; Miles Spearman, Boardman High School; and Jordan Trowers, Valley Christian.

In partnership with the Youngstown State University Foundation, Jasmine Eldridge will be awarded the Youngstown State University Junior Civic League Scholarship in the amount of $1,650.

Since its inception, the Junior Civic League has awarded over $650,000.00 in scholarships to deserving area high school students selected based on academic achievement, financial need, community involvement, personal qualities and strengths.

For tickets to the Scholarship Luncheon, please contact Social Committee Chairperson, Bea Baker at (330)519-6756. Ticket cost is $20.00.

Back to Events